Are You Sure That You Are Not A Spammer?

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...

Twitter has introduced a whole new kind of Spam.

I have confessed several times on this site that I understand very little about marketing.  I am no expert on how to get your message out there to drive more people to your site or to get them to buy your product.  Perhaps my marketing ignorance is the reason that I do not understand sending Spam messages.

Spam email messages are  unsolicited bulk emails that are sent to large numbers of people in the hopes of getting them to click on a link that will take them to site that will introduce malware onto their computer or some messages are just designed to entice the reader to send money.  Have we not matured as a society to where these scams do not work anymore?  Are people still sending money in order to claim their inheritance from their Nigerian uncles?

In 2010, the computer security company Commtouch estimated that 183 billion Spam messages were being sent daily.  Imagine how much space that is taking up on email servers and how badly it impacts their efficiency.  How much money is being spent to combat this problem?

Some of you reading this message now are shaking your head in agreement, but you may be guilty of sending out Spam.  If you have ever sent an unsolicited email to distribution list offering your products or services, then you may be part of the problem.  Even if you have a legitimate product or service, Spam is not legitimate marketing practice and could greatly hurt your company’s reputation.

The explosion of social media has just made this problem worse.  Now we can get spam on LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter.  I know many people use an auto-response when I follow them on Twitter.  They will send you a direct message shortly after you start following them.  Most of the messages are well intended.  They thank me for following them and then ask me to check out their Facebook page or go to their website.  Personally, I find these messages annoying.   Not sure how everyone else feels on this, but I would be curious to know if I am the only one that finds this practice annoying.  Instead of sending out 10 automated responses each day, I think you would be better off not sending anything or sending a personal response to one or two of them.  I have followed a couple of hundred people at this point, and maybe ten of them sent me a personal response.  In every one of those cases, we then engaged in an actual conversation and made a real connection.  I am pretty sure that is how it is supposed to work.

I will make you a promise, right here and right now.  No matter how successful or unsuccessful this site ever becomes, I will never send you an unsolicited email or Tweet for that matter.

10 comments on “Are You Sure That You Are Not A Spammer?

  1. I’m squarely aligned with you. If I start getting blitzed with auto messages or direct messages inviting me to x, y, z, I remove them as a Follower.

    • I don’t think you can possibly begin to market anything on Twitter until you have established a few relationships. If you want to drive me to your site, say interesting things and I will eventually get curious and click on the link in your bio. Good to know I am not alone.

  2. mimijk says:

    Totally agree…including not being facile with technology to figure out how half of this stuff gets done anyway..:-)

  3. jarvis1000 says:

    Here Here! Nuff Said.

  4. I agree, I like the connection with a real person and like promoting what I read on others blogs, or sites to those that have chosen to follow me as it might be of interest to them. I always find it interesting when someone follows me and I check them out and they have thousands of follower but only a couple to tweets not sure how that happens, but I am sure I will probably never hear from them 🙂

    • It just strikes me as funny how many people follow me on the hopes that I follow them back. If I don’t follow them back in a day or two then they stop following me. What is the value in having a large number of followers if no one cares what you have to say?

  5. Dale Shafer says:

    Twitter engagement is tricky in the sense that you have to follow real people to be followed by real people. In a lot of cases, this means that you can easily become more broadcast than 1:1 relationships; or at least, significantly more selective with who you interact with.

    With Twitter in particular, I have been able to connect with people I would have never otherwise met. Of course, this requires some self-promotion, but there’s a fine line between that and spamming.

    I’m with you on the automatic direct message response… highly annoying.

    • I have certainly connected with people I would have never found otherwise if it were not for Twitter, but it just seems like there is so much noise on Twitter and most of it is just stupid. You can’t automate making connections. That’s the value of Twitter, but it just does not seem like most folks believe that. I am very relieved to know I am not alone. Thanks Dale.

Leave a Reply

