Ironman Calling

Ironman Florida Swim Start

If anyone would care to join me for Ironman Florida, you are more than welcome. (Photo credit: ZarrSadus)

Hello all, long time no talk. When I first started this blog, my intention was to force myself into a structured writing ritual that would allow me to produce a book. Don’t know why, but writing a book was always a goal of mine. Along the way, I thought I might actually be able to help a few people to manage a little more effectively. None of us are born great managers, it is a learned behavior. I know that many folks do not have a great manager to mentor them, so I was hoping that I could at least offer some guidance on how I feel management should be handled. I finished the book about two months ago. It has all of the content that I wanted and I just need to write a forward and a chapter introduction or two and it is ready to be proofread and published. It has been 99% done for two months, yet I cannot seem to find the motivation to complete it and publish it? Why is that? I am honestly not sure.

So having accomplished what I set out to accomplish what’s next? I don’t know. I can tell you that I have completely lost any motivation to write. Not sure how or why, but I cannot bring myself to write anything at this point. It is not a lack of ideas, but rather a complete lack of motivation. It has felt like a job to write anything for the last few weeks. It is no longer a labor of love. That concerned me, so I stopped writing. I suspect I will write again, but it will not be this week. I can’t produce quality content if my heart is not in it, and if I cannot produce quality content then I would rather not produce anything.

As for my immediate plans, I will finish the book before year-end and publish it. I don’t have crazy expectations on it changing the world, but I think it is a pretty good resource for managers so I want to ensure that it is available. If it sells ten copies, I will consider it a smashing success. I am also going to go back into the realm of endurance sports. One thing that has definitely suffered during my brief writing career, is my fitness level. I have put on a few pounds and generally feel out of shape. So to fix that, I have decided I am going to participate in the 2013 running of the Florida Ironman Triathlon. It is a quick 2.4 mile swim, 112 bike and 26.2 run. I have about 18 months to prepare and I have lined up a coach to help ensure I live through the training program. The Ironman race has fascinated me since I learned of its existence, but I have never had the guts to commit to it. I am locked in on it now and will get it crossed off my list before the end of next year. I would also like to knock out a 50 mile ultramarathon at some point, but we will have to see where that fits into my schedule.

So that’s what is going on. So many bloggers have come and gone since I started this blog, and I did not just want to go out without saying a word. I really don’t think that I am done writing, but we will see. I can tell you that training for the Ironman will require many isolated hours of running and biking that will give me plenty of time for self-reflection. Somewhere in there, I just may find my motivation again.

I cannot thank each and every one of you enough for the support that you have shown me. I am not going away completely; I will still try to actively comment on other blogs just so you don’t forget me. That’s all for now, but I will check back soon (I promise). If you are not signed up to get updates from me when I post, now would probably be a good time to sign up. Not sure when I will write again, but when I do it likely to be pretty good stuff.

52 comments on “Ironman Calling

  1. Jill says:

    I wrote you an email earlier today with some thoughts. I will miss your daily posts more than you will know, but I respect your decision. Let us know when the book comes out — I’ll be SURE to buy a copy.

  2. elisariva says:

    Outstanding goal! I think a new blog should rise from this to document your experience. 140.6 is huge and sharing your journey could even prove to be a good book. Ironman Now? Managing 140.6 Trianing and a Life? Regardless of blog or email, I want to stay in touch and hear about your progress. I say this with all honesty and sincerity – if my training partner asked me this morning at the pool if I would consider doing an Ironman next year I would have replied “not a chance.” After reading your blog today, I just may take some time to consider it. Your motivation is already catching on!

    • Debated blogging about my experiences, but I am really a little burned out on writing at the moment. I will keep notes though. Of course I will keep in contact with you. I will need you to inspire me along the way. You are not that far off from Ironman training. You might as well go the distance. Florida IM is a good one as the course is completely flat. I know I can do the distance, but I have a lot of work to do on my speed. Making the cuttoffs is a real fear for me, but I am committed to making this happen so I will grudingly do all of my assigned speed workouts. I am a little scared, but really excited. I know that I have made the correct decision.

      • elisariva says:

        I understand not having the drive to write. I don’t know why, but it reminds me of Forrest Gump as he ran across the country only to stop one day in the middle of his run. He was done and ready to go home. More adventures were awaiting him. As for the time cut off, I understand your concern, that is why I pulled out of Wisconsin in 2002. I know you will do it. I will write you more on that later.

      • It was honestly a very Forrest Gump type moment. Abrupt with no warning. Likewise, I had not thought about Ironman in many many months, but as soon as the idea popped into my head I knew that was what I wanted to do. I have certainly been exercising, but I am far from peak shape. I hadn’t signed up for a race all year but I have no hesitation in committing to this one. I have also signed up for a half marathon and a 70.3 before the big event just to check my fitness level. I will certainly keep you posted on my progress.

  3. (Blog) writer’s block has hit me, too. I think I burned out. It isn’t easy, as you know. But, when you come to a cross-road, you have choices to make. It looks like you’ve made your choice, and the new challenge you are daring to take. I wish you the best of luck in all of your choices and challenges, and I hope you return to writing soon.

  4. lmfdesign says:

    I will miss your posts, but I can really relate to your situation. I only put one blog post out last month. I hope that you find what you’re looking for during your intensive training regimen.

    That said, get off your butt and publish that book! This unfinished business will hang over your head like a rock until you’ve accomplished what you set out to do. You have more than enough material written already to get a decently sized tome out there.

    Best of luck to you in the Ironman. Think about me on August 11th when I’ll be participating in the Spartan Sprint because I had a similar epiphany to yours earlier this year.

    • I will indeed think about you. I think you will throughly enjoy the experience. I don’t know what the deal is with not publishing the book. I am clearly not motivated to do it (or it would have been done by now), so I have to figure out what my fear is and overcome it. I will get it worked out and done. I truly appreciate all of your support.

  5. mimijk says:

    I was wondering where you were MBN – and if I missed you over these last few days, I am sure I will feel your absence still more over these next weeks. Congratulations on completing such an impressive accomplishment – and I am sure there are many more than ten who will benefit from your experience and wisdom. Good luck with the ironman and I hope you stay in touch and perhaps share your perspective on this new challenge you are about to embark upon. me

    • I would like to believe that you and I will always be in contact with one another. I would still like to buy you that cup of coffee we once discussed. I do occasionally make it up to DC so I think we will get a chance somewhere along the way. I will still post occasionally. I will either be so happy or so angry about something that I will have to write about it. I will still certainly check in on your blog from time to time.

      • mimijk says:

        I’m counting on that cup of coffee and will look forward to it!! I too hope we will always remain in touch..Be well and happy and crush that Ironman!!

  6. David Shedd says:

    MBN, you are to be commended for the work and the quality of work that you have done over the better part of the last year. Well done. You will be missed. As someone who has done blogging (albeit once a week) for two years and who has written two books, I offer to be a resource to you to help you get that book finished and out. davidshedd@cox.net. Getting the book out will give you the completion of a task well done as you embark on your next goal. Best of luck.

  7. tootallfritz says:

    Good luck in your new endeavors!

  8. Dallan says:

    Sad to hear you won’t be blogging on a regular basis, but glad to hear about your book and your new goal to do a triathlon. I’ve run lots of 50 mile ultramarathons and have really enjoyed them. Ultramarathon running can be addicting at least it has been for me. Good luck!!!

    • Thanks so much for the words of encouragement. I am very excited to run one. I may try to squeeze one in during my Ironman training. I will still be around, so I will be sure to provide updates.

  9. Jaclyn says:

    They say the heart grows fonder in absence so one never knows! I am volunteering at this year’s FLIM to register for 2013 as well….we can share war, I mean training stories.

  10. What??? I just met you! I guess I’ll have to go back into the archives.

    Congrats on taking on the next big challenge. Ironman .. wow! I managed to pull off a half marathon and thought that training took a lot of time. Nothing compared to what you are taking on. I look forward to your occasional post and reading the book when it comes out.

  11. Congrats and good luck, MBN. Stay in touch!

  12. Conecrusher says:

    Good luck with your new endevours!

  13. jarvis1000 says:

    congrats on the Book! I’ve really enjoyed reading this blog, even though when I started reading I had never even tried to be a manager. Thanks again, and if it be the end so be it, but I hope not.

  14. MBN, you’ll be missed. Finish the book. Send me a copy. I can’t wait to read it. As I’m sure many others are. Good luck to you…

  15. MinkaM says:

    I’ve truly enjoyed reading your posts. You’ve given some great advice and guidance; at the very least you’ve made me think. Thank you. I will miss reading your posts, but totally get what you’re going through. The same sort of thing happened to me when I finished writing my first book. I “cured” it by running half marathons. Not that a cure was needed–just needed to get the blood pumping again and set a different kind of goal. Hopefully this awesome undertaking of yours will get the writing wheels churning again. The best of luck to you in your training. Awesome. 🙂

  16. johnpersch says:

    MBN,

    please let me express my thanks for sharing so many insights with us readers. It was a pleasure to find your posts in my in-box and I am going to miss them. I consider your blogs (and all other blogs) as a gift and I appreciate them. Getting them forever is not granted and sometimes the good things stop.

    You have made a decision. You have the courage to live a life true to yourself, not the life others expect of you. That is fantastic. Enjoy your life. Life is a choice. It is YOUR life. Choose consciously, choose wisely, choose honestly. Choose happiness.

    I hope to see you again in my in-box.

    John

  17. Maybe the problem you have with writing is you have forced yourself into a box. Hard to be creative when you have to limit yourself. Once you get into the intentse training schedule of Ironman, you may find you will want to write more not only about management but how it pertains to the new journey you are embarking on. I follow several friends/bloggers who are currently in training for Ironman. marathons, ultra’s and other super human feats! All of them have become more aware and write about how the traing effects other parts of their life. Good luck to you and train smart!

    • From past experiences, I know that all of the training time gives one a great deal of time for self-reflection. You never know what will come out of that. Thanks for all of you support.

  18. Nnnoooo!! Say it ain’t so. I have an alert set up so please keep writing even if sporadic. Good luck on the half ironman. You must blog about that experience. Let us all know when the book comes out.

  19. Ankur Mithal says:

    That is wonderful. All the best for your book. Hope it come out soon.
    Incidentally, and coincidentally, I started blogging about eight months back and am on way to getting my book published. On my version of managing, in a manner of speaking. Or not managing. It should be out very soon.

  20. Melissa says:

    MBN,

    I will miss your daily posts, they contribute an awesome voice to the many leadership/management blogs out there.
    With that said, I admire your decision to pause when you don’t feel you can keep writing good content. There are many bloggers with a big following who keep writing just for the sake of keeping their followers. I admire your ethic.

    Good luck with Iron Man! Try to stay on Twitter and let us know when your book is published.

    Thank You! – Melissa

  21. Wow, MBN, I do not know how I missed this blog post. I have been thinking about you and how much I have missed your posts and decided to see what was going on. I am so happy for you finishing your book and will for sure purchase a copy when it is ready. I hope to hear from you sooner rather than later. You have been an inspiration to me and have given me a lot of practical management advice and for that I thank you. You will be missed out here, please check in if you get the chance to read a post or two…

    your blogging friend…

  22. AniToddSmith says:

    Aw…. I will miss your posts. Good luck in the triathalon! I don’t see this as the end but rather, a new beginning.

  23. Best of luck on your FL triathalon! I am with AniToddSmith…..this is simply a new beginning. 🙂

  24. MBN – I miss your blog posts, but knowing that you are training for the Ironman, I totally understand. Both vocations are entirely time consuming. Focus on your current passion. Bike. Swim. Run.

    All the best.

  25. All the best. I will miss your posts. I wish some day, i could do endurance sports like you.

  26. hr6degrees says:

    I know I’m pretty late in wishing you on your decision but want you to know you have with all your posts given me that support I may have been looking out in my manager/s
    Your posts sure will be missed by me and others alike, don’t know why but makes my heart quench,a feeling you get when you know you going to miss someone. Have a great one.Look forward to your book. You can be assured you are going to have more than 10 buys 🙂 It takes alot to share ones time with others and you have done a great job of it. It’s your time for yourself now, truly enjoy it which you will.
    Wait to see you at the finish line Ironman.

  27. Guy Leclerc says:

    I was wondering why I was not receiving your blog anymore! I just found out. An other good reason to start a new blog on your training experience. It is motivating and for sure I would read it since I always found triathlon interesting.

    Good luck in this new journey!

  28. I had been wondering about you and tonight I found out…hope you are well, miss your post.

  29. Good luck with your book! I miss reading your posts. Thanks for sharing your words with us for as long as you did!

  30. Don’t undermine the importance of blogging for providing insight for your book. I, too, am writing a book, and therefore not posting as frequently, but occasional blogging forces me to think in the here and now and allows for feedback from others. Looking forward to your content, in whatever form it takes.

Leave a Reply

